Bonnie Raitt & Lowell George with John Hammond - Ultrasonic Studios 1972 (2015)

Posted By: SERTiL
Bonnie Raitt & Lowell George with John Hammond - Ultrasonic Studios 1972 (2015)

Bonnie Raitt & Lowell George with John Hammond - Ultrasonic Studios 1972
Blues | MP3 CBR 320 kbps | 77:26 min | 192 MB + 5% Recovery
Label: Iconography | Tracks: 16 | 2015

This show from 1972, the era of open opposition and student revolt at the U.S. in Vietnam, is in essence a blues fest with some of the up-and-coming youngsters on the scene of the time. Bonnie Raitt took blues away from the sturm und drang of Janis Joplin and "softened" it, but to no bad effect. Steve Winwood's 'Can't Find My Way Home' in her hands is prettified, but passionate, meaningful and ultimately gorgeous. Lowell George from Little Feat added a toe-tapping rhythm to his version of the blues; he "funkified" it, and in doing so helped create a body of work of breathtaking magnificence. Raitt covers fellow singer-songwriter Jackson Browne's 'Under The Falling Sky', the aforementioned 'Can't Find My Way Home' and up and coming songwriters Eric Kaz and Libby Titus' 'Love Has No Pride'. Lowell George backs Raitt's set and marks his presence with his stinging notes and snaking lines. Although a fine singer in his own right, this evening Lowell largely offers support with some achingly beautiful picking instead. This recording represents something more than a "gig" - a Hootenanny if you will - indeed there was no paying audience to speak of in attendance. Only those "hanging out" or specifically invited witnessed proceedings in full. Although those lucky enough to be in the vicinity of NYC's WLIR FM could listen in to the synchronized broadcast - a feature of many rehearsals and sessions at Ultrasonic during the early to mid 1970s. That this legendary occasion was captured for posterity and for the enjoyment of those today still interested in such timeless music and spirited events, is nothing short of a blessing.

01. Intro (Live) (0:37)
02. Love Me Like A Man (Live) (4:30)
03. Under The Falling Sky (Live) (4:24)
04. Love Has No Pride (Live) (5:51)
05. Going Down To Louisiana (Live) (5:40)
06. Can't Find My Way Home (Live) (4:13)
07. Big Road Blues (Live) (4:25)
08. You Got To Know How (Live) (5:33)
09. Apolitical Blues (Live) (4:28)
10. Riding In The Moonlight (Live) (3:10)
11. As The Years Go By (Live) (4:44)
12. All Night Long (Live) (5:25)
13. I Can't Be Satisfied (Live) (7:21)
14. The Sky Is Crying (Live) (5:34)
15. Honest I Do (Live) (6:26)
16. It's Too Late (Live) (5:06)