Antonio Carlos Jobim - The Composer Of Desafinado, Plays (1963/2014) [Official Digital Download 24/96]

Posted By: HDV
Antonio Carlos Jobim - The Composer Of Desafinado, Plays (1963/2014) [Official Digital Download 24/96]

Antonio Carlos Jobim - The Composer Of Desafinado, Plays (1963/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time - 35:31 minutes | 776 MB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Front cover

The Composer of Desafinado, Plays is Antonio Carlos Jobim's debut album originally released in 1963. The Brazilian musician and composer was known as one of the primary influences behind the creation of the bossa nova musical style. The record features all original compositions, including "The Girl from Ipanema" one of the most widely recorded songs of all time.

In his first American album, Antonio Carlos Jobim presents a dozen of his songs, each one destined to become a standard – an astounding batting average. Jobim, who claimed to have been out of practice at the time of the session, merely plays single notes on the piano with one hand, punctuated by chords now and then, sticking to his long, undulating melodies with a few passages of jazz improvisation now and then. Yet it is a lovely idea, not a gesture is wasted. Arranger Claus Ogerman unveils many of the trademarks that would define his Creed Taylor-produced albums with Jobim – the soaring, dying solo flute and spare, brooding unison string lines widening into lush harmony; flutes doubling on top of Jobim's piano chords – again with an exquisitely spare touch. The songs include "Desafinado," "Corcovado," "Chega de Saudade" (No More Blues), "The Girl From Ipanema," "Meditation," "One Note Samba," and half-a-dozen others (every one of which is included on The Man From Ipanema set).


01 - The Girl From Ipanema
02 - Amor em Paz (Once I Loved)
03 - Agua De Beber
04 - Vivo Sonhando (Dreamer)
05 - O Morro Não Tem Vez (Favela)
06 - Insensatez (How Intensive)
07 - Corcovado (Quiet Nights)
08 - Samba De Uma Nota Só (One Note Samba)
09 - Meditation
10 - Só Danço Samba (Jazz Samba)
11 - Chega De Saudade
12 - Desafinado

Remastering engineers: Dennis Drake and João Gilberto.

Antônio Carlos Jobim - piano, guitar, vocals
Leo Wright - flute, alto saxophone
George Duvivier - double bass
Jimmy Cleveland - trombone
Edison Machado - drums
Claus Ogerman - conductor

Analyzed: Antônio Carlos Jobim / The Composer Of Desafinado, Plays

DR Peak RMS Duration Track
DR11 -0.21 dB -15.62 dB 2:42 01-The Girl From Ipanema
DR10 -1.14 dB -16.82 dB 3:36 02-Amor em Paz (Once I Loved)
DR11 -0.08 dB -16.82 dB 2:51 03-Agua De Beber
DR11 -0.61 dB -17.53 dB 2:36 04-Vivo Sonhando (Dreamer)
DR12 -1.17 dB -18.18 dB 3:21 05-O Morro Não Tem Vez (Favela)
DR11 -1.05 dB -16.87 dB 2:57 06-Insensatez (How Intensive)
DR10 -2.21 dB -17.02 dB 2:27 07-Corcovado (Quiet Nights)
DR11 -1.83 dB -16.60 dB 2:17 08-Samba De Uma Nota Só (One Note Samba)
DR10 -1.64 dB -15.31 dB 3:16 09-Meditation
DR12 -1.62 dB -18.65 dB 2:22 10-Só Danço Samba (Jazz Samba)
DR11 -1.57 dB -16.46 dB 4:20 11-Chega De Saudade
DR12 -1.66 dB -17.76 dB 2:45 12-Desafinado

Number of tracks: 12
Official DR value: DR11

Samplerate: 96000 Hz
Channels: 2
Bits per sample: 24
Bitrate: 2866 kbps
Codec: FLAC

Thanks to the Original customer!