Jasper Van't Hof's Pork Pie - The Door Is Open (1976/2017) [Official Digital Download 24/88]

Posted By: HDV
Jasper Van't Hof's Pork Pie - The Door Is Open (1976/2017) [Official Digital Download 24/88]

Jasper van't Hof's Pork Pie - The Door Is Open (1976/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time - 42:45 minutes | 854 MB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Front cover

This 1975 MPS release continues Pork Pie’s cutting-edge exploration on the outer boundaries of fusion, jazz, and ethno. Keyboardist Van’t Hof, saxophonist Charlie Mariano, and guitarist Philip Catherine are joined by renowned Danish musician Bo Stief on electric bass and English drummer John Marshall of Soft Machine fame.

Catherine’s Devil Toes heats up in a tempestuous modal flare, with Mariano’s soprano supplying the fire. Mariano pursues the haunting melody on his Zana, followed by Catherine’s majestic solo over Van’t Hof’s flowing chordal backdrop. Written by one of the greatest South Indian classical music composers, Tyagaraga (1767-1847), Mariano’s arrangement of Telisi Rama illustrates the music’s influence on such jazz greats as John Coltrane, and Van’t Hof’s stellar piano solo intimates his debt to McCoy Tyner. The balladic He’s Gone features Mariano poignant flute, while on Van’t Hof’s Simul Sincrone Mariano sings out on alto saxophone in a wide-open impassioned performance. Avoid the Year of the Monkey runs the gamut from aleatory electronics to sophisticated fusion, as the drums propel stunning soprano sax and organ solos, while Van’t Hof’s The Door is Open reveals an intensely beautiful surreal landscape. As a sequel to Pork Pie’s Transitory, the album’s music is every bit as ‘exploratory, electrifying, and exciting’ as its predecessor.


01 - Devil Toes
02 - Zana
03 - Telist Rama
04 - He's Gone
05 - Simul Synchrone
06 - Avoid the Year of the Monkey
07 - The Door Is Open

Produced by Achim Hebgen. Engineered and Mixed by Mike Bobak.
Recorded & Mixed on July 29 - August 2, 1975 at Morgan Studio, Brussels.
Digitally Remastered.

Jasper Van't Hof - electric piano, organ, grand piano
Charlie Mariano - alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, flutes
Philip Catherine - electric guitar, acoustic guitar, banjo
Bo Stief - bass
John Marshall - drums

Analyzed: Jasper van't Hof's Pork Pie / The Door Is Open

DR Peak RMS Duration Track
DR10 -0.95 dB -13.35 dB 5:35 01-Devil Toes
DR10 -1.14 dB -13.84 dB 7:20 02-Zana
DR9 -1.75 dB -12.57 dB 5:05 03-Telist Rama
DR9 -4.19 dB -17.90 dB 2:32 04-He's Gone
DR12 -1.51 dB -15.84 dB 6:10 05-Simul Synchrone
DR9 -1.10 dB -15.23 dB 9:38 06-Avoid the Year of the Monkey
DR10 -2.02 dB -17.06 dB 6:25 07-The Door Is Open

Number of tracks: 7
Official DR value: DR10

Samplerate: 88200 Hz
Channels: 2
Bits per sample: 24
Bitrate: 2524 kbps
Codec: FLAC

Thanks to the Original customer!

Some more of 'Jasper van't Hof' in Hi-Res