Josh Lawrence - Color Theory (2017) [Official Digital Download 24-bit/96kHz]

Posted By: HDV
Josh Lawrence - Color Theory (2017) [Official Digital Download 24-bit/96kHz]

Josh Lawrence - Color Theory (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time - 57:25 minutes | 1,17 GB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Front cover

Lawrence is an impeccable trumpet player with a glossy sound. Like all but a few jazz musicians under 40 in the world, he wants to write his own stuff. The concept behind this album is synesthesia, one form of which is the experience of music as color. Tunes include “Green,” “RED!,” “Black” and “Blue.” The relationships between songs and specific colors mean something to Lawrence; listeners will have to take these relationships on faith. Tracks alternate between energetic, intricate postbop structures and slow-to-medium forms. All are harmonically astute, well made and expertly executed. All are nice. None is sufficiently differentiated from the vast recent canon of compositions by under-40 jazz musicians to make it entirely memorable. Lawrence's new leader record "Color Theory" showcases his original compositions and is meant to be reflections of the entire color spectrum.

Josh Lawrence brings a full complement of tones and contrasts to his new record "Color Theory." Featuring a powerful line-up fronted by Lawrence's trumpet, keyboardist Adam Faulk, pianist Orrin Evans, and alto saxophonist Caleb Curtis, everything stays straight forward and swinging hard while the rhythm section of bassist Madison Rast and drummer Anwar Marshall keep everything honest and in the pocket. The music is meant to be reflections of the entire spectrum, and the musical program covers several hues and shades with an exciting and evocative presentation of Lawrence's amazing new original compositions. "Color Theory" features an amazing combination of talents and a highlight reel of brilliant performances. Josh Lawrence is a new star on the jazz horizon and his music is sure to bring bright moments to jazz fans everywhere.


01 - Yellow
02 - Presence
03 - The Ripoff
04 - Red!
05 - The Conceptualizer
06 - Green
07 - Black
08 - An Uptown Romance
09 - Purple (4 Price)
10 - Blue
11 - On the Yangtze

Josh Lawrence - trumpet
Caleb Curtis - sax
Brent White - trombone
Orrin Evans - piano
Adam Faulk - rhodes
Madison Rast - bass
Anwar Marshall - drums

Analyzed: Josh Lawrence / Color Theory

DR Peak RMS Duration Track
DR11 -5.90 dB -22.00 dB 1:03 01-Yellow
DR9 -0.97 dB -13.76 dB 5:19 02-Presence
DR10 -0.97 dB -13.17 dB 5:33 03-The Ripoff
DR9 -0.97 dB -11.49 dB 5:18 04-Red!
DR9 -0.97 dB -13.31 dB 5:27 05-The Conceptualizer
DR10 -0.97 dB -12.30 dB 5:19 06-Green
DR9 -0.97 dB -12.31 dB 7:06 07-Black
DR10 -0.97 dB -13.42 dB 4:31 08-An Uptown Romance
DR10 -0.97 dB -13.15 dB 7:45 09-Purple (4 Price)
DR9 -0.97 dB -12.64 dB 5:33 10-Blue
DR12 -0.97 dB -16.46 dB 4:31 11-On the Yangtze

Number of tracks: 11
Official DR value: DR10

Samplerate: 96000 Hz
Channels: 2
Bits per sample: 24
Bitrate: 2769 kbps
Codec: FLAC

Thanks to the Original customer!

Attention: tracks "2-5 & 10" are broken :(