Christian McBride & Inside Straight - People Music (2013)

Posted By: mark70
Christian McBride & Inside Straight - People Music (2013)

Christian McBride & Inside Straight - People Music (2013)
MP3 320 kbps CBR | 55:40 min | 124 MB
Genre: Jazz | Label: Mack Avenue

One of the most prominent jazz artists of his generation, bassist Christian McBride is best known for a number of successful recordings under his own name and as a sideman for Herbie Hancock, Chick Corea and Diana Krall. In 2007 he created Inside Straight, a new quintet that focused on playing straight-ahead acoustic jazz and which debuted with the acclaimed 'Kind of Brown'. His new Mack Avenue CD 'People Music' delivers a more road-tested, "lived-in" Inside Straight, able to dig deep while projecting that ebullient vigour that has become McBride's trademark.

Eight original tunes make up 'People Music' and balance intense interplay with an exuberant personal expression that speaks directly to the listener. McBride contributes half of the repertoire for the album, but also felt it was important to feature pieces written by the other band members, all of whom are accomplished composers in their own rights. Two items from the bassists own pen stand out, however, "The Movement Revisited" drawn from his large-scale suite for choir and jazz ensemble dedicated to icons of the Civil Rights movement, and "New Hope's Angel" inspired by the tragic passing of Soul Diva Whitney Houston.

It's not simply abundant virtuosity that makes Christian McBride the most in-demand bassist on today's jazz scene. McBride consistently combines deft musicianship with an innate ability to communicate enthusiasm to an audience - two factors that he, together with the other members of Inside Straight, unquestionably demonstrate on 'People Music'.


01. Listen To The Heroes Cry - 7:39
02. Fair Hope Theme - 6:49
03. Gang Gang - 7:03
04. Ms. Angelou - 6:42
05. The Movement, Revisited - 8:30
06. Usual Suspects - 7:28
07. Dream Train - 6:05
08. New Hope's Angel - 5:28


Christian McBride (bass),
Steve Wilson (alto saxophone),
Warren Wolf (vibes),
Christian Sands, Peter Martin (piano),
Ulysses Owen Jr., Carl Allen (drums).