Cristina Ariagno - Louis Aubert: Piano Works (2009)

Posted By: SuniR
Cristina Ariagno - Louis Aubert: Piano Works (2009)

Cristina Ariagno - Louis Aubert: Piano Works (2009)
Mp3 CBR320 kbps | 56:10 min | 120 Mb (5% Rec.)
Classical, Piano | Label: Brilliant Classics

Louis Aubert was one of a host of the French composers whose music fell into the blind oblivion created by the dazzling talents of Debussy and Ravel. It wasn’t anyone's fault but the effect was the same as if it had been. Imaginative music of some depth and reach has failed to register with more than a few people ‘in the know’. We knew something was up when Marco Polo issued a truly outstanding CD of his orchestral music. This included Le Tombeau de Chateaubriand (1948) - a tremendously imaginative, salt-spray and sun-dazzle Breton marine picture. Aubert was born in Brittany and as Sillages proves the sea flowed through his creative veins. The Chateaubriand picture picks up on the artist's seascapes rather than being the sort of neo-classical anonymity you might have feared from the title.

Sillages is another sea-piece to set alongside Le Tombeau - a sequence of three powerfully atmospheric movements. Christina Ariagno has a commanding grip on these deeply serious tone poems. Their language is very much of the early-mid-20th century. The idiom is close to that of Arnold Bax in his Third Sonata yet with more air in the texture. This is awkward, elbows-out music – saturated in natural grandeur. The habanera woven into Socorry - the middle movement - suggests that although Sur Le Rivage could well have the crashing combers of Ouessant as a locale, the coastal images of Socorry are Iberian. The swirling expressionist textures of Dans la Nuit are similarly refracted, fractured and troubled. Ricardo Vines was one of the pianists who championed Sillages.

The Deux Pieces en Forme de Mazurke take us back from the language of Sillages to salon-Chopin – that’s probably too harsh. It’s pleasing and undemanding. The Romance (1897) is a simple Chopin-like creation: sentimental and plumbing no great depths. The Three Esquisses of 1900 inhabit much the same floral Macdowell-salon world with only Nocturne looking forward to Sillages. The Valse-Caprice is from the same sentimental lode as is the sweetly scurrying Lutins. The Faure Esquisse - his last published piece - is more complex and dates from 1922. It is closer to the subtleties, mirror-shatter and intimations of magnificence we find in the masterly Sillages. –Rob Barnett


01. Sillages, for piano, Op. 27: I. Sur le rivage 09:30
02. Sillages, for piano, Op. 27: II. Socorry 07:13
03. Sillages, for piano, Op. 27: III. Dans la nuit 07:58
04. Deux Pieces En Forme De Mazurka, for piano, Op. 12: I. No. 1: Lent 04:04
05. Deux Pieces En Forme De Mazurka, for piano, Op. 12: II. No. 2: Anime 04:44
06. Romance, for piano, Op. 2 03:03
07. Trois Esquisses, Op. 7: I. Prelude 01:32
08. Trois Esquisses, Op. 7: II. Nocturne 03:37
09. Trois Esquisses, Op. 7: III. Valse 01:40
10. Valse-Caprice, for piano, Op. 10 03:14
11. Lutins, for piano, Op. 11 05:52
12. Esquisse Sur Le Nom De Faure, for piano 03:00

Cristina Ariagno - Piano

Recording dates from 2005.