Jon C Butler - Universal Stranger (2017)

Posted By: Domestos
Jon C Butler - Universal Stranger (2017)

Jon C Butler - Universal Stranger (2017)
MP3 CBR 320kbps | 00:43:51 | 100.93 Mb | Cover
Alternative Rock | Country: UK | Label: Strataville

Singer songwriter Jon C Butler has been writing, recording and releasing albums since his band Diesel Park West released their hugely influential debut Shakespeare Alabama some 25 years ago.

Although the album received tremendous critical acclaim and the band’s sparkling Rickenbacker-jangling, West Coast rock was favourably compared to The Byrds & Springsteen, it was Jon’s song writing in particular that received the highest accolades with quality comparisons made to Ray Davies, Fred Neil, Marriot-Lane and Neil Young.

This early acclaim for both band and writer didn’t turn into noticeable success, but the band played on and Jon’s song writing and burgeoning solo career continued unabated. Afterall, A Writer Writes, and if a new song can touch people and make them feel a little less alone in the world, then all the better.

As we fast forward into 2017 the release of Jon’s new album Universal Stranger is a particularly notable occasion. With eight critically acclaimed Diesel Park West studio albums, three John Butler solo albums & numerous collaborative releases behind him, Universal Stranger is actually a debut album! It’s the first to be released under the name Jon C Butler.

Why the name change? Well – in a world where discovery is now dominated by Google and an artist’s unique online presence is perhaps their most valuable asset – the new Jon C Butler moniker should arrest any further confusion between Jon and his Australian namesake.

Universal Stranger is Jon at his very best. The songs sound clear and fearless. Produced by Paul Sampson (The La’s, Primitives, Catatonia, David McAlmont) his ear-friendly production principles offer up glorious twists and turns to keep things lovingly awkward. Played loud or quiet, on headphones or hi-fi, Universal Stranger is an album where repeat listening is a joy.

Track List:
01. Jon C Butler – When the Walls Went Down (3:51)
02. Jon C Butler – Each Other (3:26)
03. Jon C Butler – A Little Misunderstanding (3:35)
04. Jon C Butler – The Man Who Wouldn’t Love (4:34)
05. Jon C Butler – Universal Stranger (4:46)
06. Jon C Butler – Birmingham (3:46)
07. Jon C Butler – Ghost in My Heart (3:42)
08. Jon C Butler – In the Wishing Well (4:12)
09. Jon C Butler – Mr Rock n Roll (4:08)
10. Jon C Butler – The First Stone (3:47)
11. Jon C Butler – Would Have Should Have (4:04)

More Music in My Blog
Follow My RSS Channel