Eighth Blackbird: Fred (Music of Frederic Rzewski) (2005)

Posted By: peachfuzz
Eighth Blackbird: Fred (Music of Frederic Rzewski) (2005)

Eighth Blackbird - Fred (2005)
Music of Frederic Rzewski (b. 1938)
Classical | EAC (APE & CUE) | 193 MB

Frederic Rzewski's musical languages cover the full range of contemporary techniques, from 12-tone and densely pounded clusters to several varieties of Minimalism, but his work virtually always draws its energy from an intense dramatic sense. The ensemble Eighth Blackbird illuminates that quality most vividly in the harrowing "Coming Together" (1971), based on a letter of Sam Melville, a prisoner killed in the rioting at Attica.


    1–6 Pocket Symphony (2000) (27:38)

    7 Les Moutons de Panurge (1969) (11:38)

    8 Coming Together (1971) (arr. Matt Albert, 2000/2003) (18:51)

    Eighth Blackbird:

    Matt Albert (Violin)
    Molly Alicia Barth (Flute)
    Matthew Duvall (Percussion)
    Lisa Kaplan (Piano)
    Michael J. Maccaferri (Clarinet)
    Nicholas Photinos (Cello)

    Cedille Records: CDR90000 084


Rapido Crap
Mega Hottie

(3% recovery record included)